Deakin Communicating Science 2016

EES 200/101

Yet Another Fad To Look Fabulous.

We all want to lose weight and we want to lose it quickly, but are we too quick to jump on board with every new fad craze that come out on a regular basis?

It’s clear that the market on weight loss has expanded considerably throughout the last decade, top sale products include Green Coffee Bean Extract and Garcinia Cambogia.

Garcinia Cambogia Extract

Me, like any other person out there is looking for a weight loss solution to “end all diets without having to do any strenuous exercise.” So in the name of science I’d like to volunteer my own body to test the claims behind the Garcinia Cambodia Extract and Green Coffee Bean Extract diet supplementary.

But before I throw myself into this experiment I want to get an understanding of the science behind the dietary supplement so I can, knowing all the facts and after conducting the experiment  judge for myself whether their allegations of “proven” results are true or not.

Claims

The whole craze for Garcinia Cambodia and Green Coffee Bean Extract started when it was advertised on the famous American talk show Dr Oz in 2012, where millions of women around the world trust to be a reliable source of medical information.

Dr Oz states that the key ingredient in Green Coffee Bean Extract is chlorogenic acid, a polyphenol acid that is extracted from unroasted green coffee bean, which can also be found in other important nutrition areas like vegetables. This polyphenol acid chemical supposedly triggers an energy boost.

Reading through the benefits and side effects of Green Coffee Bean Extract I found that a side effect to the increased chlorogenic acid can lead to diarrhea, so maybe that’s why everyone is loosing weight so quickly. I’ll have to wait and find out for myself.

Serotonin

Diet pills like the Garcinia Cambogia Extract claim to reduce your appetite, and boost your metabolism due to the fruits skin containing hydroxycitric acid, which is used in most dietary supplements. The supplement claims to also eliminated your body from produces fat by blocking the citrate lyase enzyme. It also tricks your mind into feeling fuller for longer by increasing you serotonin levels in the brain.

Other then being a weight loss supplement the Garcinia Cambogia can be used by those who suffer from diabetes, I don’t have diabetes but it does run in my family so the fact that it can help maybe prevent me from getting it is a pro in my book.

The reason it may help those suffering from diabetes is due to the fact that the Garcinia Cambogia makes it easier for your body to use its glucose resulting in lower insulin levels.

Further studies have shown that Garcinia Cambogia can also help lower cholesterol because it lowers the bad cholesterol triglycerides and LDL and raises the good cholesterol HDL.

Experiment

Now that we know a little more about these two weight loss products I feel like I can start my experiment with them with the understanding that when taking these supplements I shouldn’t be hungry as often, I’ll have a faster working metabolism and I’ll be more energised.

Directions of use:

Garcinia Cambodia and Green Coffee Bean Extract Supplements

Garcinia Cambodia and Green Coffee Bean Extract Supplements

For the Garcinia Cambogia

Adults take 1-2 tablets daily

Green Coffee Bean

Take 1 tablet 30 minutes before each meal

I’m aiming to take them daily for approximately 4 weeks, with doing moderate exercise and a healthier diet.

Stay tuned for my upcoming progress report on the supplementary weight loss diet.

 

 

Resources

 

Leave a Reply

Deakin Authors

