Deakin Communicating Science 2016

EES 200/101

Decision Time…

For those who have stuck with me during the 4 week diet experiment with dietary supplement, I’d like to say thank you.

Thank you

Thank you

Now, 4 weeks later in my study of how affective the dietary supplements Gracinia Cambogia and Green Coffee Bean Extract are I can come to a conclusion, but it’s important to note that this is a personal opinion based on my findings, that the use of the supplements have plateaued and become ineffective.

I’ve managed to lose roughly 4.5 kilograms in 4 weeks, following a strict diet and using the dietary supplements, results are varying from week to week. Week one weight loss was 2 kilograms, week two I lost around another 2 kilograms and in the last two weeks, weeks 3 and 4 I’ve only lost around half a kilogram to a kilogram.

My sister on the other hand has lost well over 5 kilograms in the same amount of time with a balanced diet made up of weigh loss effective fruits such as watermelon and apples which help with increasing energy and increasing your metabolism.

All in all, the claims made by the scientist who created the Garcinia Cambogia and Green Coffee Bean Extract pills were in most cases correct. Where the diet pill did boost up my metabolism because of the fruits skin containing hydroxycitric acid, but the fact that for the same reason would suppress my appetite I don’t agree with.

In the case that the dietary supplement eliminates the body from producing fat because it blocks the the citrate lyase enzyme, I have no scientific evidence to disclaim this claim but considering I did lose weight and centimetres off my waist (but no where else *sad face*) I’d say theres some truth to it. But with the fact that it “tricks your mind to feel fuller for longer” is utter nonsense, well for me that is, I didn’t see any changes in my eating schedule.

Going through the check points of their claims, whilst continuing my result on weight loss pills focusing mainly on the Garcinia Cambogia and the Green Coffee Bean Extract I came across some unsettling news.

No such thing as an easy fix

Turns out the dietary pills I’ve been taking for a month may gives you faster heart rates, hepatitis and  liver damage. Though I haven’t experienced any of theses side effects I’m sure it’s due to me only using the supplements for a shorter amount of time then those who have reported having the symptoms.

As stated in the Consumer reports website, stating that back in 1998 a scientist named Heymsfield was the first to publish  in the Journal of the American Medical Association a randomised controlled trail on the garcinia cambogia and it’s effectiveness. His findings were that the fruit contained no weight loss benefits.

In 2009, Food and Drug Administration warned consumers about the dangers of taking hydroxycut, another weight supplement which contained garcinia cambogia along with other ingredients. Due to reports of health problems which included increases liver enzymes, liver damages that went on to require a transplant and one case of death from liver failure.

Is Hydroxycut safe?

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) were unable to determine exactly which of the ingredients in the diet supplement were causing the liver injuries. The manufacturer of Hydroxycut stopped making the product only to come back with a new and improved one containing no garcinia cambogia.

Regardless of the fact that diet pills show quick results, as I’ve finished my experiment, I plan to stay away from any dietary supplement in the future because it’s proven that it does little to help progress weight loss and keep the weight off.

Sources:

Food Huggers. 2016. Thank YOU! – Food Huggers . http://foodhuggers.com/blogs/news/10702937-thank-you.

Garcinia Cambogia Weight Loss Supplement Review – Consumer Reports News. 2016. http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/news/2014/03/garcinia-cambogia-is-no-miracle-weight-loss-pill/index.htm.

SparkPeople. 2016. 12 Ways to Spot a Fad Diet, SparkPeople. http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/nutrition_articles.asp?id=395.

OZ Weight Loss. 2016. Garcinia Cambogia.  https://www.ozweightloss.com.au.

The 5 Best Watermelon Seed Benefits. 2016. The 5 Best Watermelon Seed Benefits. http://www.healthline.com/health/food-nutrition/best-watermelon-seed-benefits.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2016 by in Geelong - Wednesday 3pm and tagged , , .

Deakin Authors

